an unopened letter

Today’s Prompt: You stumble upon a random letter on the path.You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter. Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible.


 

An unopened letter flies up into my face when the wind catches it. The address is just up the road, on my way. It smells of Chanel #5. Who scents letters anymore? Even 30 years ago, only a rare lady would be so bold–to let a man know she was attracted. My grandmother sent my brother a dollar in his birthday card (lavender-reeking) every year, even when he was married with kids. Nobody writes letters anymore. What’s the point? Approaching, I notice a black wreathed door, black cars out front, people dressed up …oh. Oh!

