Human Homily

For every teacher who once taught

Is a preacher who never praught.

Every driver once driven

A river never riven.

 

How strange the human family

Words caught in a homily,

Rhyming slang

We once sang.

 

For every song unsung

Is a wrong not unwrung;

Every swimmer once swam

But a skimmer never skam.

 

If you dig, you once dug,

But if you jig, you never jug.

 

When you lose you’ve lost

But when you close you never clost.

Tempest toss’d and bossed

No guesses ever guossed.

 

Drink, drank, drunk.

Skink, skank, skunk.

 

Where I tread I once trod,

Never to thread what I once throd.

Where I seek I once sought,

But where I peek I never pought.

 

How strange the human family

Words caught in a homily,

Rhyming slang

We once sang.

 

What I blow I once blew,

But the snow never snew.

What I catch I once caught,

What I match I never maught.

 

Drink, drank, drunk.

Skink, skank, skunk.

©2015 Linda L Labin, PhD

One thought on “Human Homily

Comments are closed.