Ode to an Elephant

My brain is like an elephant,

Large and gray and wrinkly,

Memories like lost sea chanties

In a dark night, so twinkly.

 

Everything I have ever known,

Stored in massive files like a Greek tome.

 

All the good tastes, all the good smells,

Happy sounds and shrieking of bells,

The feel of soft rain on my nose,

My first kiss. Why, do you suppose?

 

Everyone, everything I loved,

Gone in the twinkling wings of a dove.

All my laughs, all my tears

Fall around unheard ears.

 

Where did they go?

Will I ever know?

Wish it weren’t the case.

Answers I must chase.

 

Alone in the dark, with my mind.

Alone, in the dark of my mind.

 

My brain is like an elephant,

Large, and gray, and wrinkly,

My memories like long, dark nights

Sparked up by a twinkly.

 

Star upon star, stupefying sleep,

Into good this evil seems to creep.

Should I investigate, should I excavate?

Should I toddle off and find me a bottle?

 

Where did they go?

Will I ever know?

Wish it weren’t the case.

Answers I must chase.

 

Alone in the dark, with my mind.

Alone, in the dark of my mind.

© Copyright 2015 Linda L Labin, PhD

5 thoughts on “Ode to an Elephant

  1. This poem is too good for words- it is insightful and I feel should be in some text book for children or students to dissect and annotate- there are a lot of poetic devices here. alliteration , simile and even metaphors. I wish I could write like this.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I hope I’ve learned a couple of things after teaching literature for centuries. I wish I could write like this, too, all the time. You never know when inspiration will hit, so just keep writing.

      Like

Comments are closed.